The town museum tells the story of Bridport from its origins to the present day. Exhibits include those from the nearby Roman hillfort and from the rope and net making industries
Bridport Museum tells the story of the town's history from its origins to the present day. The Tudor building and its art collection were handed to Bridport Borough Council in the 1930s by a Captain A.P. Codd on the agreement that it would turn the building into a museum and art gallery.
It was officially opened as Bridport Museum in 1932. It gained full registration in March 2002 following development of new displays and at present is owned by the Bridport Museum Trust
A big part of the fine art collection includes many of Captain Codd's paintings to this day. Some of the notable displays include artefacts from the Roman hill fort and the area's world famous yarn spinning, rope and net making industries. Other collections include coins, medals, costumes and textiles, weapons and war, and archaeology. The exhibitions include the story of Doctor Roberts, a local figure and creator of "The Poor Man's Friend", a miracle cure for all manner of conditions! Another feature is the Jurassic Coast gallery which boasts some interesting fossils and a partial skeleton of a plesiosaur discovered at Golden Cap in 2004.
Bridport Museum is also regularly used by local people researching their family history. There are various temporary exhibitions that change throughout the year.